Crochet

Squirrel Friend (Amigurumi)

Constructing this adorable squirrel friend was an absolute delight. I modified the ‘stretching cat’ from Boutique-Sha’s Amigurumi Cats book. I love that it uses visual patterns and tables but am disappointed all projects created using the patterns are copyrighted for personal use only. I used the body and head pattern then made my own hind legs, ears, and tail. Hopefully I’ll have explaining energy at some point to specify what I did but today is not a writing out stich count day.

I’ve been moving towards ethically sourced, natural fibers for my projects which led me to discover Threads by Megan Nicole. I used DK weight Copper Coins for the body and Burnished Bronze for the accents on the tail. Unlike Amazon links I make nothing off people following links to her shop. The shine on her hand dyed yarn is just too fantastic to resist. The only drawback was some fiber wasn’t completely dyed leaving small pockets of white. For this project it added additional flare, but I wouldn’t want inconsistent colour for all my projects.

For the nose and eyes I used safety eyes from a kit I purchased on Amazon. I would avoid this particular kit as I find many eyes have rough ‘tags’ on the edges which I’ve had to smooth off.

Leave a comment